Loving Gabriel



Truth comes to light and love is revealed after Tanner confesses her devotion to Gabriel. But when a former fling and co-star offers his assistance on her debut movie, he’s a constant reminder of all the ways Tanner has messed up. Add a crazed kung fu rival, paparazzi on the prowl, and a controlling stage mom, and things get ugly fast. Can Gabriel and Tanner find truth in the chaos? Or is their newly-found romance doomed before it’s even begun?

“Love is patient; love is kind; love is not envious or boastful or arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice in wrongdoing, but rejoices in the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.”
(1 Corinthians 13:4-8 RSVCE)

Loving Gabriel will be available at many online and offline retailers such as Barnes & Noble and Amazon.com, and through distributors such as Ingram and directly through the author. Visit book business page for inquiries.

REVIEWS/INTERVIEWS/ARTICLE ON THIS TITLE

Loving Gabriel is a satisfying end to the Faith & Kung Fu series with both Gabriel and Tanner Rose growing in maturity as they take on adult challenges in business, in friendships, and most of all, in their love for one another.

The novel will give teens lots to think about in discerning marriage and the importance of honesty and communication in intimate relationships. After all, devout country boy Gabriel and reformed Hollywood starlet Tanner have some differences to overcome if they’re going to make their relationship work.

An added element of danger and suspense gave the story a surprising turn, one that raised the stakes in a way I didn’t expect. I think fans of the series will relish this ending.”
~Carolyn Astfalk, author of Rightfully Ours

Loving Gabriel is the fourth and final book in T.M. Gaouette’s Faith and Kung Fu Series. What an enjoyable ride it has been! If you’re unfamiliar, the four books in this series center around Gabriel—a devoted son, faithful Christian, and Kung Fu champion.

This author’s strength is her ability to create memorable characters and heartfelt storylines. I’ve loved witnessing the growth in all her characters throughout the years—especially Tanner’s faith journey and her developing relationship with Gabriel. This contemporary series is full of intriguing supporting characters and situations that stay with you long after the book is finished.

Loving Gabriel takes place a few years after the events in book number three, Guarding Aaron. Reuniting with these characters was like catching up with old friends. Has Tanner been successful in her endeavor to produce Christian movies? Did Gabriel discern where God is leading him? What about all their friends and family that we’ve come to care about? I don’t want to give anything away, so will just say that all questions will be answered, and even though things might not go quite as expected, I think fans will find this to be the perfect conclusion to this fantastic series.”
~Leslea Wahl, author of the award-winning Blindside Series

“Fans of Tanner and Gabriel are going to love this last novel in the Faith & Kung Fu series, a book which really lives up to the series name. It is just packed full of faith and action. The story begins with several fun-to-read moments with Gabriel and Tanner, but they soon face challenges to their relationship, which at times seem unsurmountable. The faith elements in this story remind me how important it is to realize we are each a work in progress but also provide insights into preparation and considerations for the sacrament of marriage. This is a not-to-be-missed edition to the series.”
~Theresa Linden, author of The West Brothers Series

“This story has been a long time coming. And though not my typical genre, I can state this book was very hard to put down. It is such a powerful story that it brought me to tears. And that is stating a lot as I have been married over 18 years and my wife has only seen me cry a handful of times. Now some of that comes from being a father of daughters. I do not know how you could read a story like this and not think of your own children. Much like Liam Neeson’s Taken movies, you will not be able to read this and not think about your own children. Or for the youth, teens, and young adults reading it, it comes as a warning. This book gets darker than the others in the series on several levels. And fortunately it does not rush forward to a perfect solution.

Madeleine L’Engle broke her works into three categories; autobiographical, other time, and real time. She used the terms Kairos (the Murry-O’Keefes books) and Chronos (the Austin Family Books) and she had some characters that spanned all three classes of books. This offering would be in the Chronos class. And it reminds me of some of L’Engle’s books for more mature readers. This volume has a kung fu challenge, paparazzi galore, a controlling mom, and Tanner trying to make changes and not be the Hollywood Starlet she had been raised to be. When you add in a controlling and manipulative ex, and the disappearance of Tanner … well, let’s just say the story gets dark.

Most of the characters in this book are familiar to us from the first three volumes. And reading about them is like a visit with old friends, but old friends facing trials and troubles. It is a chance to catch up and see where they are at in life, and in their spiritual journey. For some, there are marked changes and improvements. There are three main plot lines in this story that all wrap together well. First, we have Gabriel being challenged repeatedly by his sifu’s grandson when he is offered the dojo. We have Gabriel and Tanner who have admitted their feelings for each other and are looking at starting a life together. But Tanner’s ex is still living the Hollywood lifestyle and has his eyes set on a reunion with Tanner, no matter what it takes. And finally, we have Tanner trying to get investors to create a Christian film, and in part, tell her and Gabe’s story. All three plot lines focus around having faith, trusting God, and seeking God.

The characters are the greatest strengths of this book and the series. The genre of these stories is ‘realistic fiction.’ And, in fact, reading these books could be like encountering friends and family that you know in real life. The characters are so very well written that readers might be disappointed to find out that this is the intended end of the series.

The second great strength of the story is the story itself. The plot and how Gaouette handles the elements is masterfully written. I cannot go into details without a major spoiler. But the story gets dark. And only faith, hope, and seeking God get some of the characters through. And even at that, almost no one is left unscathed.

I was using adaptive technology and listening to this book while driving on the highway. The second time tears came, I had to pull over and stop the book. It was that moving. Gaouette has wrapped up the story in an excellent fashion. I have stated before that the more I read by T.M. Gaouette, the more I want to read. I thoroughly enjoy her works and appreciate that they are good clean Christian fiction. This is an excellent Catholic young adult book, but can be read and enjoyed by mature readers who love a good story! Previous books by Gaouette I would have recommended for tweens and even middle grade readers, this one I would raise the age or maturity and recommend it for teens, even older teens, and young adults. A great read in a wonderful series.”
~Steven McEvoy, reviewer, BooksReviewsandMore.ca